The First Step

Today I make the brave leap from avid blog-stalker, to blogger-in-my-own right!

For the past six months or so, I have been religiously following some amazing ladies and simply soaking in every word they have to say about food, fitness, and loving your own body.  I’m currently in the early stages of my own weight-loss maintenance journey (see my weight loss story for more), and realized that I need a little accountability in my life.  As such, this blog has been born.  Today is my first day and I have big plans.

Having never run a step in my life, I first took up running at the end of last year.  I ran my first 5K in 30 minutes, 56 seconds in February.  I’ve had hard time getting back into working out since then.  My efforts have been…mm…sparse at best.  Today I’m easing back in – I’m going on a short run tonight!

Shortly before November of last year, I also decided to clean up my eats — the hubby and I (more me than him at first – he’ll eat whatever I put in front of him, though) decided to “eat clean,” try to eliminate all garbage from our diet, I cut out meat (I wasn’t a huge fan to begin with, ‘cept for seafood), and kicked the soda habit.  It was one of the best decisions I ever made!

Unfortunately, even eating better food, I lack portion control skills and, combined with my lack of physical activity, I’ve seen ten pounds slowly creep back on my short-statured frame in the past few months.  It’s time to kick it into gear.

And off I go…

Leave a Reply

