Ghetto Garmins and Green Monsters

Oh, what a glorious day!  I’ve just gotten back home from the most delightful walk (I have successfully moved my body today – yay me!)  After I got home from work this evening, I threw on my running clothes, strapped on my sneaks, and hit the road.  I took it relatively easy, reminding myself that my overarching goal was to move my body, not kill myself.  I walked 40 minutes through our neighboring neighborhood – the fabulous Orlando Baldwin Park.  Friends, it could NOT have been a more gorgeous evening!  The (relatively) cool air (83 degrees) brushed my skin as I strode, and occasionally trotted, along.  The comfortable breeze was laced with the perfume of the blooming magnolia trees (of which there were a surprising many – I felt like I’d landed in Mississippi somewhere).  Perf.

A recap of today’s eats:

This morning started off with one of Mama Pea’s Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Cookies because I was positively starving when I woke up.  It was fantastic! I’ve died and gone to vegan heaven.

My picture looks rather disgusting actually.  I blame it on the camera — as opposed to my questionable mad baking skills.

After I’d de-stinkified myself and beautified my face for work, I had the second half of breakfast:

Faux turkey sausage patty (Morningstar brand – not the biggest fan),

chopped with a handful of (fuzzy) tiny minced cheddar cheese cubes,

and topped with a lovely egg (Mm last! How the heck did I run out of eggs!? Note to self – buy more eggs).

Mid-morning snack was non-fat plain Greek yogurt topped with diced strawbs and a few unpictured almonds:

Lunch was a salad topped with cherry tomatoes, a homemade blackbean/brown rice veggie burger, a little bit of Colby, and a drizzle of basalmic vinaigrette:

Afternoon snack was an unpictured protein bar at about 2:40 – lunch didn’t hold me long today!

On the way home, I stopped off at Target (pronouced: tar-jshay)Boutique for a little treat for meself – my very own ghetto Garmin.  I’m special – mine comes in two pieces:

A fabulous $10 watch to keep track of time when I’m running/walking/biking outside

(its hard to tell, but its purple – LOVE the purple)

AND

a $5 pedometer to keep track of my steps.  I figured it was worth a few bucks to figure out how much activity I’m really getting everyday – I’m willing to bet its less than I think.  I sit on my tail in front of a computer all day, so how much walking could I really be getting in? About as much as it takes to make the rotation from my office, to the office kitchen, to the bathroom, and back.

By the time I got home, I was a starvin’ marvin’ – I was bound and determined to let nothing sidetrack me, though.  I cuddled Monkey (code for Harrison) for a few minutes, I threw back a few blue corn chips topped with a bit of homemade black bean dip, got myself together (as described so eloquently above), strapped on the various bits of my new ghetto Garmin, whom I shall dub “Betsy,” and got my moves on.

All in all, not a bad start towards accomplishing this year’s goals.

When I got back, I was craving one thing and one thing only: a Green Monster.  I pulled the blender out and got down to business.  Into that bad boy went:

1 scoop vanilla flavored whey protein powder

1 tablespoon chia seeds (love these!)

2 – 2 ½ cups baby spinach (what else?)

1 tablespoon of almond butter (ok, so maybe I stuck my finger in and licked it too)

1 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk

and a couple handfuls of ice

So yum.

Love in a cup.

Leave a Reply

