Sheer Brilliance

Books on tape.

An ingenious idea.

I recently discovered the insane fantasticness that is recorded literature.  I borrowed the CD recording of The Golden Compass, by Philip Pullman, from the lib to listen to on a long drive down to Fort Myers and back last week.

The Golden Compass, Deluxe 10th Anniversary Edition (His Dark Materials, Book 1)(Rough-cut)

(Source)

I was a goner.  So. darn. good.  I’m such a visual girl (gutter minds, control thyselves), I just never thought I’d enjoy listening to someone else drone on and on at speed which I could easily surpass if I were reading myself.  I know I hated it as a kid – I was the one always hanging over mom’s shoulder while she read to all the kids, reading ahead and then rolling my eyes in boredom until she finally turned the page.

Listening to the book made the drive so much more bearable that just listening to music. As a matter of fact, I got so into the book that I missed my exits not once, but three times (hm, maybe I was subconsciously trying to prolong the literary pleasure).

So yesterday I got to thinking.  I always listen to music when I’m getting my cardio on.  But I’m usually slightly bored.  What if I swapped out my music (as much as I love my Mary J. Blige – Family Affair, anyone?)

(Source)

for a book on tape.  Say…the sequel to the Golden Compass?  I may have to hit up the lib today.

What helps you get your groove on?

Leave a Reply

